President Lobo Swears in New Ministers

Honduras President Swears in New Ministers

Honduras President Swears in New Ministers

President Porfirio Lobo Sosa on Wednesday at the Presidential Palace, swore in a new Minister of Youth, Olga Alvarado, and Minister of Labor, Jorge Bográn.  Our Honduran president also swore in a new director of the Honduran Social Investment  Fund (Fondo Hondureño de Inversión Social – FHIS), Roberto Zablah, and director of the National Agrarian Institute (Instituto Nacional Agrario – INA), Naphtali Medina.

In addition, President Lobo sworn in new vice ministers, one for the National Youth Institute (Instituto Nacional de la Juventud – INJ), Marcos Tulio Tróchez, and one for the Ministry of the Interior and Population, Pastor Aguilar, and a new subdirector of the FHIS, Selvin Zelaya.

Olga Alvarado previously served in the INJ as Vice Minister.  As Minister, she is responsible for promoting the participation in, and inclusion of, youth policies across the country.  Marco Midence resigned the position to campaign for the position of congressperson for the Department of Atlantida.

Jorge Bográn is a lawyer and served as the Director of Legal Affairs at the Ministry of Labor.  Bográn succeeds Felicito Ávila, who resigned to seek a congressional position for the Democratic Party of Honduras in the Department of Francisco Morazán.

Roberto Zablah takes over at the FHIS  after the former director, Edgardo Martínez, resigned to join in the November general election as a candidate for Congressperson from the Department of Comayagua.  Zablah was former director of Control and Monitoring.

Neptalí Medina served as advisor to the former director of the INA, César Ham, who also resigned to seek a congressional position in the Department of Yoro for the Democratic Unification Party (UD). Medina has a degree in economics from the Autonomous University of Honduras (UNAH). The new director of INA has held other important positions in various public and private institutions.

All changes are due to the resignation of employees of those institutions, who left their public positions to aspire to elected office.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login